CTACS Annual Meeting 2010

The 2015 Annual Meeting was held on Friday, 06 November, at the Marriott hotel in Farmington, CT.

Foster Lecturer: John Torello
Distinguished Service Award Recipient: Kathleen LaVorgna, MD, FACS
Legislator of the Year: Rep. Rosa DeLauro, US House of Representatives
Surgical Skills Competition Winner: St. Mary’s Hospital

Meeting Documentation
Meeting Brochure
Meeting Agenda Book
Resident Abstract Book

Resident Paper Competition Results
List of Presented Abstracts
Resident Competition Winners

John D. MacArthur Trauma Competition
First Place
Kristina Ziegler, MD, Time in Target Blood Glucose Range is Associated with Survival in Trauma ICU Patients, Stamford Hospital

Honorable Mention
Vladimir Coca-Soliz M.D., Introduction of the daVinci Robot and SSIs, Saint Mary’s Hospital

Clinical Oncology Competition
First Place
Laura C Lamb, MD, Breast MRI: A Retrospective Review of the Utility and Pitfalls in Newly Diagnosed Breast Cancer, The Hospital of Central Connecticut

Second Place
Christian D. Cain MD, Adrenal Incidentaloma: Masquerading Rare Retroperitoneal Schwannoma, Stamford Hospital
General Surgery Competition – Two Sections
First Place
Rakesh Hegde MD, Impact of Surgical Site Infection (SSI) Control Bundle Implementation in Reducing Infection Rate Following Colorectal Surgery a Single Centre Quality Improvement Study, Waterbury Hospital

Gopi Ukani MD, Putting the Antibiogram to Use to Decrease Surgical Site Infections, Saint Mary’s Hospital

Second Place
Charles T. Drinnan, Ph.D, Treatment of Hyperoxia-Induced Lung Injury with Patient-Specific, Neonatal iPSCs, UCONN Health Center

Todd Jensen, MSc, Esophageal Tissue Engineering, UCONN Health Center

Surgical Specialties
First Place
M. T. Rishi, MD, Adeno-HSA12B Delivery Improves Neovascularization in a Murine Model of Hind Limb Ischemia, UCONN Health Center

Second Place
Sandeep Sachidananda, Use of Adjunct Intraop Cone Bean CT (CBCT) with Real Time 3D Overlay Improves Diagnostic Accuracy of Electromagnetic Navigational Bronchoscopy (ENB) , Waterbury Hospital

Plastic Surgery
First Place
Basil Nwaoz, MD, Effectiveness of Pecs Blocks for Elective Subpectoral Breast Augmentation: A Case Series, Stamford Hospital

Second Place
Eduardo Sandoval MD, Massive Recurrent Rhinophyma Successfully Treated With Radical Excision and Skin Graft Coverage: A Case Report and Review of the Literature, Hartford Hospital

Bariatric Surgery
Honorable Mention
Melissa Santos Ph.D, TweetChatting a Bariatric Surgery Procedure: The Impact of Social Media on Program Visibility, Connecticut Children’s Medical Center