CTACS residents

In an expansion of its support of surgical residents in Connecticut, the Chapter formed the Connecticut Residents’ Council. This Committee is part of the Young Surgeons Committee and the YSC Chair serves as a mentor to the Resident’s Committee Chair. The leadership of the Committee is made by an annual (November) appointment by the Chapter’s President. The Committee Chair is also an ex officio member of the Chapter’s Council.

The Committee has been active in two main areas, offering programming to Residents in the State and promoting legislative advocacy among residents. In 2010 the Committee organized volunteers to wrap holiday gifts at St. Luke’s Lifeworks in Stamford, CT.

On the education front, the Committee organized a session on Choosing a Fellowship at the 2016 Chapter Annual Meeting.  The Committee also organized a very well received ABSITE Bootcamp in January 2017 with attendees including 50 residents from across Connecticut.  Future activities include a Mock Oral Boards preparation session and a series of contract negotiation webinars culminating in a workshop.

The Committee is open to all surgical residents and medical students in the state. To learn more please contact the Chair Swathi Reddy, MD at swathi.reddy@yale.edu


Current members of the Council include:

  • Kamal Addagatla (Stamford Hospital)
  • Ann Friedrich (St. Mary’s Hospital)
  • George Ormond (Danbury Hospital)
  • Swathi Reddy (Yale New Haven Hospital)
  • Daniel Ricaurte (Waterbury Hospital)
  • Anthony Tran (University of Connecticut)